House Targaryen

House Targaryen


House Targaryen is of Dragonstone is one of the most notable and significant families residing on the continent of Westeros. They are mostly of a Valyrian descent, the people who once ruled the seven kingdoms of Westeros. The Targaryen Sigil is one of the most terrifying out there. It is a three-headed dragon, sparking flames out of the three mouths. The dragon is red and the background field is black. The House words are just as terrifying and blood-freezing as the sigil – “Fire and Blood”. The Targaryen House became the first Royal house within the seven kingdoms, named House Targaryen of King’s Landing.

Targaryens are the only family of dragonlords that survived the Doom of Valyria. They escaped the Valyrian Freehold roughly 12 years prior to the doom. For more than a century, they lived at Dragonstone on an island with the same name. They were forced to leave when Aegon the Conqueror and his sister-wives, Visenya and Rhaenys started the very first well-known wars of conquest back in 2 BC.

House Targaryen SigleThe family left and started building Aegonfort, the new seat of the family in the new capital of the King’s Landing. However, it was soon burnt down and the final seat of the family Red Keep was built. The latter remained the official residence of the Targaryen House throughout the existence of their dynasty. Notably, it was home to the Iron Throne. The red keep, due to its significance was always given to the successor of the dynasty and the heir to the Iron Throne. However, at a later stage, the House built a summer residence called the Summerholl. It has been given to some younger sons of the house ever since.

For almost 300 years, the House of Targaryen ruled as the Kings of the Andals, the Rhoynar, and the First Men, the Lords of the Seven Kingdoms, and the Great House of the crownlands. A whopping 17 male Targeryans have been in charge of the Iron Throne. The Dynasty’s existence came to an end with Robert’s Rebellion when Aerys the Mad King was killed. During this rebellion, Targeryens were completely thrown away from the leadership of the House, later replaced by House Baratheon. The only two surviving children of the Targaryens fled and lived in exile in free cities of Essos since then.

Historically, King’s Landing, the residence and the land of the Targeryens have been located in the central-eastern side of Westeros. This part of the continent is close to the north with Storm’s end in the south, the Highgaden in the south-west Riverrun in the north-west, and the Eyrie in the north.


Aegon I Targaryen, the King – he is commonly known as Aegon the Conqueror or even as Aegon the Dragon. He is known for the grand conquest during which, he with his sisters Visenya and Rhaenys conquered almost the entire continent of Westeros.

Visenya Targaryen, princess – she is the sister-wife to Aegon and one of the crucial parts of the conquest.

Aerys Targaryen, Prince – he is the thirteenth lord of the seven kingdoms. He is called King Aerys I Targaryen and is married to his cousin, Aelinor Penrose.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *